Microsoft Makecode Game

Here is my game!

How to play: the goal of the game is you are the shark and you are supposed to eat the fishes. The orange fish makes your score go down to 0 and the white fish gives you a point. The orange fish will change location every second and the white fish will move when you eat it.

How its made: I started out by using Makecode’s Chase The Pizza tutorial, which makes a very simple, basic game. All you do is try to get the food in 10 seconds. Pretty boring, right? So, I made it better by adding a second character who can move on its own and makes the game harder. I also created my own custom backdrop of the ocean to make the game more realistic, since all of the characters are ocean creatures. I also cut the time allowed from 10 to 3 seconds.

My experience creating the game: creating the game was no easy task. The tutorial was helpful, but then I was on my own (with the help of my teacher, of course). Following the tutorial was fairly simple, but it did not help me much for creating other elements. My game is pretty simple compared to my classmates’, but I am still very proud. of it This is my first time using Makecode and doing any sort of project with code. I had a particularly hard time figuring out how to make the orange fish move around. Even though creating this game was a challenge, it was a lot of fun and I can’t wait to make more!

Here is a sample of the game and its code is below. I hope you enjoy it!

Published by

One thought on “Microsoft Makecode Game

  1. Love the detail in this post! A couple of things to keep in mind… If you’re going to make section headers, (“How It’s Made”), then call them out. Make them bold, or have them be on a separate line. It was a little confusing as it is. Also, you said you didn’t think you could have done better in the time you had… If you wanted it to be better, why not continue working on it? I never said you could ONLY work on it during class! That seemed a little like an excuse 🙂

    Other than that, great post, and the game looks great too! Very well done!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *